South Glos Council adopts committee system

South Gloucestershire Council.

South Gloucestershire councillors have adopted a new council constitution introducing a committee system of governance and replacing the previous leader and cabinet arrangements.

With effect from Thursday 24th May, the majority of council decisions will be taken by ten committees, made up of elected members drawn from the council’s political parties.

Committee members will be allocated according to the political make-up of the council, and political groups tonight (23rd May) confirmed their appointments to each committee.

Committees will have full authority to make decisions relating to their portfolio areas, while full Council will remain the main forum for determining major policy issues including setting the annual budget and council tax. Council will also make appointments to various bodies.

The majority of committees will meet on an eight-week cycle, with some sub-committees meeting between the main committee dates.

Councillors also confirmed Cllr John Calway as the council’s Constitutional Leader, a new role with responsibility for representing the council on the Local Enterprise Partnership and other national, sub-regional and local forums. This role replaces the previous Executive Leader post, held by Cllr Calway.

Cllr Janet Biggin was confirmed as the council’s new Chair for the next year, replacing Cllr Mike Drew. Cllr Ian Boulton was confirmed as Vice-Chair.

Share this page: